Where it begins…

Nicoll Oliver
2 min readFeb 3, 2021

--

Software engineering was something that always intrigued me from afar, but thought it was too complex to ever learn. I was wrong, while it can be difficult, it’s so fun and challenging to learn. I’ve only done some prep work and just started for one, but I’ve truly been enjoying learning and the community.

I like to think of myself as a spontaneous person and asked myself, why not? Why not learn something that’s always caught my eye? Why not use it as an asset with my current resume? Why not show others and my son’s that their momma is talented and if you dream it, chase it. What’s the worst that can happen? If someone tells you no, pick a different door and go for it.

I did this for myself, my kids and my husband. I want to do the best for my family and provide for them, while loving what I do. I had NO idea what software engineering even consisted of. I did my research and asked people who work in the field. I wasn’t totally sold in the beginning, then I started actually doing the prep work… I fell in love!

This is so much fun and frustrating at the same time, but I learned to love it. It’s like that love/hate relationship you have with the gym after lifting heaving and you are too sore to move more than an inch... but no matter what you go back and it’s satisfying! I love that this is something that will challenge me. Who doesn’t love a good challenge? I strive to be one of the best and there’s only one way up! Started from the bottom, now we here!

--

--